Failing Is A Good Thing

It’s been a few days since I’ve had the opportunity to blog and the reason why is because I have been sick, under the weather, cast down, tired, weary and also frustrated that on day four of my New Years Resolution I broke my resolution.  Which is why I am naming this post – Failing is a Good Thing – anyone remember Peter and his wonderful thrice denials? Yeah…

As a result of setting my goals way too high, and not taking into account that sickness may enter the picture I failed on day four of the new year.  I have to tell you that this is a record for me.  Four days into the new year and “bam” I’m out and down!  Which actually has to make me laugh on some level because what happened is that I had to reevaluate what it is I’m trying to do.  Here’s what I realized…

1. God is in total control of my life and just like in the life of Job, it is apparent that God allows things to happen so that we learn to trust Him more.  For me, losing weight is my cross in life.  It is, and I have to be honest and say that I get frustrated being in a culture where beauty is all about youth and how big you are.

2.  My goal isn’t unreasonable – to exercise daily – but it’s unrealistic for my life and schedule.  Not unreasonable because exercise is a good thing, and a worthy cause.  Unrealistic because I know myself.

3.  Learning about the spiritual discipline of, you guessed it, discipline.  I have to admit that I am not disciplined enough when it comes to eating well and exercising the way I need to.  It’s really very difficult for me because temptation is everywhere, and even when you’re trying to relax by watching television, all the commercials are for weight loss products or programs.

4.  Failing leads to greater temptation (at least for me) because it would be very easy for discouragement to step in and rule within my heart.  But I also remember that the Lord said to RESIST the devil and he would flee from me.  So the temptation is to not resist and keep falling into those weak areas.

5.  Failing means that I’m walking in my own power and strength and not by the Spirit of God.  For me, I think this is the greatest lesson I’ve learned in this past week.  Change is something that God does within us, and while we can try to change ourselves, it’s really the Lord that changes us.

So I feel much comfort in this because I know that my journey to 10,000 steps a day will have to be me being moved by God – and not just physically, but also spiritually.

And lastly, I would like to thank all the new readers from the Christian Carnival for coming by and reading my first entry.  I would love for you to join me on this journey and come back regularly.

Smiley 🙂

Published in: on January 9, 2008 at 1:48 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://thejourneyto10000steps.wordpress.com/2008/01/09/failing-is-a-good-thing/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a comment